1. Home
  2. /
  3. Governance
  4. /
  5. Parliament


Legislative powers in Mongolia shall be exercised only by the State Great Khural/Parliament. The Parliament shall be elected on a four-year term by the votes of Mongolian citizens aged over 18 by democratically-held elections. The 76 members elected in the nationwide elections are members of the legislature. Structurally, the Unicameral Parliament consists of a standing committee, sub-committee, ad hoc committee, as well as councils of political parties and coalitions.


Within the scope of their responsibilities, these standing committees are responsible for pre-discussing draft bills and other parliamentary decisions submitted by the initiator, and then submitting them to the plenary session, exercising parliamentary oversight, and drafting parliamentary resolutions.

The right to initiate legislation


Parliament Members

Government has the right to initiate legislations


Stay connected with Mongolia Inc

+ Get free access to exclusive Mongolia mining industry reports